A 2019 rehearsal with director Sara DeLong.


This year’s production will be The Gondoliers, directed by Sara DeLong, with performances on June 12 & 13. Auditions for lead roles will be held on Sunday, February 23, 12-1pm as well as Monday, February 24, after Youth Choir from 6:15-8:15pm. Auditions are open this year to all members of Follen’s Youth Choir, grades 6-12 (with larger leads going to older members). All Follen youth and their friends, age 6+, are wanted for the chorus – participation in the Children’s or Youth Choir is required, since rehearsals for choruses will be throughout the Spring during regular choir rehearsal.


Announcing . . . the CAST!

Marco
– Dylan Scopetski
Guiseppe– Hannah Markelz
Duke of Plaza-Toro– Owen Hefferman
Luiz– Henri Engstrom
Don Alhambra– Mosss Szaraz
Antonio/Francesco/Giorio/Annibale (Aka Annifrangiornio!)- Caleb Johnson
Gianetta– Grace Walters
Tessa– Bayley Fox
Dutchess of Plaza-Toro– Lila Sandler
Casilda– Sydney Hart
Inez– Mystery Guest Performer


About the show

Gondoliers is a silly and colorful musical following the star-crossed paths of three different couples. Gondoliers asks us to consider societal norms of status and politeness- what is acceptable may not be what is right. How will the characters navigate society and end up fulfilling their own wishes and destinies? Come to the show this Junes 12th and 13th to find out.

At birth, Casilda was pledged to marry to the  son and heir of the King of Barataria. Unfortunately, the King lost favor with the Grand Inquisitor, who then arranged for the heir to the throne to be kidnapped and taken to Venice. Years later in Venice, Gondoliers, Marco and Giuseppe, presently engaged to Gianetta and Tessa are crest fallen to be informed that they are both heir to the throne- one of them may have to sacrifice his bride in order to marry Casilda. Casilda is not happy with the situation either as she is in love with Luiz, one of her father’s servants. As Marco and Giuseppe’s ‘father’ has since died, the only person who can identify the real Prince is Inez who was his childhood nurse. When called upon to give witness, she reveals that neither is in fact the King’s son and that the true heir to the throne of Barataria is Luiz. This proves very satisfactory to all parties as the Gondoliers can keep their brides and Casilda can both fulfil her pledge to marry the king and marry the one she loves.

Join us for this fun filled time of song and fellowship this spring!



Volunteering

All Follen youth are invited to take part as performers. EVERYONE from Follen is invited to be a production volunteer!

The 2020 Gondoliers Operetta Production is underway! All Follenites are invited to be a part of this longstanding Follen tradition by lending your time and talent to this community-building event. Help is needed throughout the spring with costumes, sets, ticketing, and publicity – especially in the weeks leading up to the June 12 and 13 production. Sign Up Online or contact Maureen Markelz with questions. 

Let us know your interest by signing up here or e-mailing Sara at operetta@follen.org.

 



Rehearsal and Performance Schedule

 

-May-

Saturday, May 2 1pm-4pm

 

Monday, May 4 4-6pm

Tuesday, May 5 4-6pm

Wednesday, May 6 4-6pm

Thursday, May 7 4-6pm

Saturday, May 9 1pm-4pm

 

Monday, May 11 4-6pm

Tuesday, May 12 4-6pm

Wednesday, May 13 4-6pm

Thursday, May 14 4-6pm

Saturday, May 16 1pm-4pm

 

Monday, May 18 4-6pm

Tuesday, May 19 4-6pm

Wednesday, May 20 4-6pm

Thursday, May 21 4-6pm

Saturday, May 23 1pm-4pm

 

Monday, May 25 4-6pm

Tuesday, May 26 4-6pm

Wednesday, May 27 4-6pm

Thursday, May 28 4-6pm

Saturday, May 30 1pm-4pm

 

-June-

Monday, June 1 4-6pm

Tuesday, June 2 4-6pm

Wednesday, June 3 4-6pm

Thursday, June 4 4-6pm

Saturday, June 6 1pm-4pm

 

Operetta Week

Monday, June 8 5pm-10pm

Tuesday, June 9 5pm-10pm

Wednesday, June 10 3pm-10pm

Thursday, June 11 -dark

 

Performances

Friday, June 12- 7:30pm curtain

Saturday, June 13- 7:30pm curtain