Letter from Coordinating Team: Music Program Guidance Document!

It’s Here:  Follen’s Music Program Guidance Document!

The Coordinating Team is delighted to share with you the Music Program Guidance Document prepared by Music Program Steering Committee (MPSC) members David Jacobson, Ching Lai, Maureen Markelz and Jen Vandiver.

Back in the fall, the Parish Board selected these thoughtful individuals to develop a vision, mission, and governance proposal with extensive input from the Follen community. Over the past few months they organized 14 listening sessions for over 90 participants and conducted a survey that had 185 respondents. We and they have very much appreciated all of your thoughtful and heartfelt feedback and good ideas. The MPSC thoroughly considered all of this information and have created a guidance document that reflects Follen’s wishes for the music program.

The Coordinating Team reviewed and provided feedback to the MPSC on drafting of the Guidance Document. Program Council and the Worship and Music Action Team (WMAT) provided feedback on the Document for consideration by Parish Board.  And on February 16th, Parish Board approved adoption of the Guidance Document as policy for the congregation.

In addition to laying out a Vision, Mission, and Core Values for the Follen Music Program, the Guidance Document creates a new Music Team as a sub-committee of WMAT and summarizes other important learnings from the listening sessions and survey. You can read the Guidance Document here.  And please join a Zoom presentation with Q&A with the MPSC on either of these dates:

Sunday, February 27 from 5-6 pm

Wednesday, March 3, from 5-6 pm.

We are excited to begin the search for a new Music Director to help us live into our shared vision for the future of music at Follen. Please join us in thanking David, Ching, Maureen and Jen for the incredible work reflected in the Guidance Document. If you have any questions, please email coordinatingteam@follen.org or reach out to any of us.

In faith,

Rev. Claire Feingold Thoryn
Lisa Snellings, Parish Board Chair
Trapper Markelz, Parish Board Vice Chair
Sophie Evett, Program Council President
Nick Hart, Program Council Vice President